Corona pandemic

Our museums are closed until December 20, 2020.

schliessen
Springe zum Hauptbereich
All State Museums in Schleswig-HolsteinAll State Museums in SH

Rainer Fetting

Here are the lemons

19.05. - 18.10.2020

He is one of Germany’s most important contemporary artists. Rainer Fetting. The Museum of Art and Cultural History Schloss Gottorf will honour him with the large special exhibition "Here are the lemons".

The comprehensive retrospective encompasses a total of 136 works – 60 paintings, 14 works in bronze as well as 62 sketches and graphic prints can be seen. With this, the exhibition provides a broad insight of Fetting’s wide-ranging and multifaceted works. Special emphasis is placed on a series of larger than life-sized portraits from recent years, which use several canvases and provide a monumental effect. They include the portrait of Desmond Cadogan “Here are the lemons” from 2015.

The beginnings: the Berlin “Moritzboys” the “New Wild”

Rainer Fetting, born in Wilhelmshaven in 1949, studied at the University of Arts in Berlin and was a co-founder and protagonist of the Berlin Moritz Square Gallery at the end of the 1970s, which was founded by a group of young artists who became known under the name of “New Wild”, “Young Wild” or also “Moritzboys”. Their paintings were emotional and direct, intense and very colourful and above all: figurative.

In 1978, Rainer Fetting moved to New York with a scholarship, where he plunged into a city which held completely new freedom and artistic inspiration ready. His international breakthrough was in 1981 with the exhibition “A New Spirit in Painting”, curated by Norman Rosenthal and Christos Joachimides in London. Individual exhibitions followed in the well-known London Anthony d’Offay gallery as well as at Mary Boone in New York.

Fetting’s major topics: human beings and their world

Rainer Fetting was represented at the eminent Zeitgeist exhibition in the Berlin Gropiusbau in Germany in 1982. In 1983, he returned to New York, where he lived for over ten years until 1994. A series of his well-known paintings from this period is shown in the exhibition. In addition to portraits of Desmond and other people, they include townscapes such as Men at the Pier, Figur und Hochbahn [Figure and an elevated railway] (van Gogh), Taxi with steam and green female or the famous punk club CBGB’s.

Since his return from New York, Rainer Fetting also paints on the island of Sylt. The sea’s natural force has always had a great appeal to him and provides him inexhaustible motifs for his paintings: the dunes or the momentum of the waves, surfers and ball game players or also the dredging vessels of Sylt.

Fetting’s major topics: human beings and their world connect here. In addition to the human figure and the portrait, landscapes in the broadest sense – city landscapes and the wall pictures from Berlin, city scenes from New York – play a central role. A separate chapter is dedicated to the famous Willy Brandt portrait from 1996 and the Helmut Schmidt portrait from 2006.

Gefördert von...

Schleswig-Holstein State Museums
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen

Springe zum Hauptbereich
Alle Landesmuseen in Schleswig-HolsteinAlle Landesmuseen in SH

Rainer Fetting

Here are the lemons

24.04. - 18.10.2020

Er zählt zu den wichtigsten deutschen Künstlern der Gegenwart: Rainer Fetting. Das Museum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Schloss Gottorf zeigt ihm zu Ehren die große Sonderausstellung "Here are the lemons".

In der umfassenden Retrospektive sind insgesamt 145 Arbeiten – 60 Gemälde, 13 Bronzen sowie 62 Zeichnungen und druckgraphische Blätter –  zu sehen. Damit gibt die Ausstellung breiten Einblick in das umfang- und facettenreiche Werk Fettings. Ein besonderer Akzent liegt auf einer Serie überlebensgroßer Portraits aus den letzten Jahren, die mehrere Leinwände einnehmen und monumental in ihrer Wirkung sind, darunter das Porträt von Desmond Cadogan „Here are the lemons“ aus dem Jahr 2015.

Die Anfänge: die Berliner "Moritzboys" oder die "Neuen Wilden"

Rainer Fetting, 1949 in Wilhelmshaven geboren, studierte an der Hochschule der Künste in Berlin und war Ende der 1970er Jahre Mitbegründer und Protagonist der Galerie am Berliner Moritzplatz. Diese wurde von einer Gruppe junger Künstler gegründet, die unter dem Begriff „Neue Wilde", „Junge Wilde“ oder auch „Moritzboys“ bekannt wurden. Ihre Malerei war emotional und direkt, heftig und sehr farbig und vor allem: gegenständlich.

1978 ging Rainer Fetting mit einem Stipendium nach New York, wo er eintauchte in eine Stadt, die ganz neue Freiheiten und künstlerische Anregungen bereithielt. Der internationale Durchbruch kam 1981 mit der Ausstellung "A New Spirit in Painting", die Norman Rosenthal und Christoph Joachimides in London kuratierten. Es folgten Einzelausstellungen in der bekannten Londoner Galerie Anthony d’Offay sowie bei Mary Boone in New York. 

Die großen Themen Fettings: der Mensch und seine Welt

In Deutschland war Rainer Fetting bei der berühmten Ausstellung Zeitgeist 1982 im Berliner Gropiusbau vertreten. 1983 ging er erneut nach New York und lebte dort für mehr als zehn Jahre bis 1994. Eine Reihe seiner bekannten Gemälde aus dieser Zeit werden in der Ausstellung gezeigt. Neben Porträts von Desmond und anderen sind das Stadtbilder wie Men at the Pier, Figur und Hochbahn (van Gogh), Taxi with steam and green female oder die berühmten Punk-Club CBGB’s.

Seit seiner Rückkehr aus New York malt Rainer Fetting auch auf Sylt. Die Naturgewalt des Meeres übt seit jeher einen großen Reiz auf ihn aus und bietet ihm unerschöpfliche Motive für seine Malerei: Die Dünen oder die Wucht der Wellen, Surfer und Ballspieler oder auch die Baggerschiffe vor Sylt. 

Hier verbinden sich die großen Themen Rainer Fettings, der Mensch und seine Welt. Neben der menschlichen Figur und dem Portrait spielen Landschaften im weitesten Sinne – Stadtlandschaften und die Mauerbilder aus Berlin, Stadtszenen aus New York – eine zentrale Rolle. Ein eigenes Kapitel ist den bekannten Portraits von Willy Brandt aus dem Jahr 1996 und Helmut Schmidt von 2006 gewidmet.

Landesmuseen Schleswig-Holstein
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen