Corona pandemic

Our museums are closed until February 1st, 2021.

schliessen
Springe zum Hauptbereich
All State Museums in Schleswig-HolsteinAll State Museums in SH

North German Gallery

Visitors take a journey through the past hundred years of German art in the North German Gallery, from the beginning of the 20th century up to the present day.

The adaption to North German artists is decisive for the character of the North German Gallery. The boundaries and opposites of the various artist generations of the 20th century are thematised.

The connection between art in the Rolf Horn Collection and the North German Gallery can be seen immediately from the outset: the first room treats expressionist artists. Art from the Weimar republic follows with the New Objectivity and surrealism. It was a decade of experiments with colours, forms and topics.

The experimental phase came to a halt with the beginning of the NS dictatorship. Several artists were banned from painting, for example Eduard Bargheer and Friedrich Karl Gotsch. A painting for the museum’s collection by the artist Hedda Pontoppidan, who lived just a few kilometres away from Schleswig in the north of Schleswig-Holstein for many years, originates from this period.

After the end of World War 2, the post-war generation tried to follow the earlier art from the Weimar Republic. The artists from this period include Richard Haizmann, Erich Hartmann, Carl Hilmers and Oskar Kehr-Steiner.

Fantastic innovations are incurred increasingly with the 1968 generation. Here, the artists from North Germany followed particularly realistic as well as equally socio-critical approaches.

The “North German Realists” such as Friedel Anderson, Tobias Duwe, Christoph Thiele or also Nikolaus Störtenbecker followed here.. This generation focussed primarily on everyday items and landscape motifs.

The new exhibition also addresses contemporary art. This is also represented here by Ingo Kühl and René Schoemakers, born in 1972.

Schleswig-Holstein State Museums
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen

Springe zum Hauptbereich
Alle Landesmuseen in Schleswig-HolsteinAlle Landesmuseen in SH

Norddeutsche Galerie

In der Norddeutschen Galerie begeben sich die Besucher auf eine Reise durch die letzten hundert Jahre deutscher Kunst, von den Anfängen des 20. Jahrhunderts bis in die Gegenwart.
 
Entscheidend für den Charakter der Norddeutschen Galerie ist der Zuschnitt auf norddeutsche Künstler. Thematisiert werden die Abgrenzungen und Gegensätze der verschiedenen Künstlergenerationen des 20. Jahrhunderts.
 
Der Bezug zwischen der Kunst in der Sammlung Rolf Horn und der Norddeutschen Galerie ist gleich zu Beginn sichtbar: Der erste Raum beschäftigt sich mit Künstlern des Expressionismus. Es folgt die Kunst der Weimarer Republik mit der neuen Sachlichkeit und dem Surrealismus. Es war ein Jahrzehnt des Experimentierens mit Farben, Formen und Themen.
 
Die Phase des Experimentierens endete mit dem Beginn der NS-Diktatur. Viele Künstler wurden mit Malverboten belegt wie zum Beispiel Eduard Bargheer oder Friedrich Karl Gotsch. Aus jener Zeit stammt auch ein Gemälde der Künstlerin Hedda Pontoppidan, die lange Jahre wenige Kilometer von Schleswig entfernt im Norden Schleswig-Holsteins gelebt hat, für die Sammlung des Museums erstanden.

Nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges versuchte die Generation der Nachkriegszeit an die frühere Kunst der Weimarer Republik anzuschließen. Künstler dieser Zeit sind unter anderem Richard Haizmann, Erich Hartmann, Carl Hilmers und Oskar Kehr-Steiner.
 
Großartige Neuerungen in der Kunst treten verstärkt mit der 68er-Generation auf. Die Künstler des norddeutschen Raums verfolgen dabei besonders realistische Ansätze, ebenso wie gesellschaftskritische.

Hierauf folgen dann die „Norddeutschen Realisten“ wie Friedel Anderson, Tobias Duwe, Christoph Thiele oder auch Nikolaus Störtenbecker. Der Fokus dieser Generation liegt vor allem auf Alltagsgegenständen und Landschaftsmotiven.
 
Auch der zeitgenössischen Kunst widmet sich die neue Ausstellung. Vertreter sind hier unter anderem Ingo Kühl und der 1972 geborene René Schoemakers.

Landesmuseen Schleswig-Holstein
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen